Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Watt and Oppel Win Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards

Share |
Melanie Watt and Kenneth Oppel

Congratulations to Mélanie Watt and Kenneth Oppel, the 2011 winners of the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards! The Awards are worth $6,000 each, and they "recognize artistic excellence in writing and illustration in Canadian." The winners were selected by two juries of young readers from Agnes Macphail Public School in Toronto. Watt received the Children's Picture Book Award for Chester's Masterpiece (Kids Can Press), and Oppel received the Young Adult/ Middle Reader Award for Half Brother (HarperCollins Canada). This year marked the 35th anniversary of the award.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad