Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Shane Peacock's Eye of the Crow Wins Another Award

Share |
Shane Peacock's Eye of the Crow Wins Another Award

Shane Peacock's popular young adult novel, Eye of the Crow: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His First Case (Tundra Books), is scooping up numerous awards this year. On June 5, it won the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Juvenile Crime Novel in Canada. The week before, Peacock took home the prestigious IODE Violet Downey Book Award. The novel has also been chosen as an Honor Book for the 2007 CLA Book of the Year for Children Award, chosen as one of the Top 10 Young Adult Fiction Books of the Year by the Ontario Library Association and been given ForeWord Magazine's Gold Medal Award for juvenile fiction. Eye of the Crow was also named one of the "Books of the Year" by Quill & Quire magazine.

Eye of the Crow is the first in a four-book series about Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s renowned and much-loved detective, Sherlock Holmes. The series begins with Holmes as a thirteen-year-old boy in Victorian London in 1867. The young Holmes becomes fascinated by a sensational murder and sets out to solve it, thus beginning his illustrious career. The second book in the series, Death in the Air, was published this spring by Tundra Books and involves an accident at London's Crystal Palace.

Go to to read excerpts from The Eye of the Crow and Death in the Air, to find out about the characters in the series and to read about Victorian London. Shane Peacock's website is

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad