Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Finalists Announced for the 2009 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards

Share |

Finalists for the 2009 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards have been announced. The two awards recognize artistic excellence in writing and illustration in Canadian children’s literature and carry a cash prize of $6000 each.

The finalists in the Picture Book category are:

Just One Goal!
Written by Robert Munsch
Illustrated by Michael Martchenko
Scholastic Canada

M is for Moose: A Charles Pachter Alphabet
Written and illustrated by Charles Pachter
Cormorant Books

A Pocket Can Have a Treasure in It
Written by Kathy Stinson
Illustrated by Deirdre Betteridge
Annick Press

Chester's Back!
Written and illustrated by Mélanie Watt
Kids Can Press

Stanley at Sea
Written by Linda Bailey
Illustrated by Bill Slavin
Kids Can Press

The finalists in the Young Adult/Middle Reader category are:

Written by Kenneth Oppel
HarperCollins Publishers

Written by Alma Fullerton
Fitzhenry & Whiteside

Before Green Gables
Written by Budge Wilson
Penguin Group (Canada)

Word Nerd
Written by Susin Nielsen
Tundra Books

The Shadow of Malabron
Written by Thomas Wharton
Doubleday Canada

The winners, to be selected by two juries of young readers from Toronto's Market Lane Junior and Senior Public School, will be announced May 20.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad