Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

Carolyn Wood, former Executive Director of the Association of Canadian Publishers, receives Janice E. Handford Award

Share |
Carolyn Wood - Janice E. Handford Award

Yesterday afternoon, the Ontario Book Publishers Organization honoured Carolyn Wood, former Executive Director of the Association of Canadian Publishers, with the Janice E. Handford Award. Wood was given the award — which recognizes "an individual who has advanced the cause of small and literary Canadian publishing” — at a reception in Toronto sponsored by Friesens. Photos of the event can be viewed and downloaded here.

“I am doubly honoured to receive the Janice Handford award. First, it comes from Ontario's independent publishers, among whom I worked for so many years, and whose contribution to Canada's cultural life is so vital;” said Wood “second, it's named for a woman I knew as a friend, one I greatly respected and admired. This award is means a great deal to me.”

Carolyn Wood has spent most of her working life in the book world, first as a librarian, and then in publishing, almost entirely with Canadian-owned companies. She worked in marketing and editorial, ran the distribution service at University of Toronto Press for nine years, and was a co-founder of Second Story Press. In 2006, she was appointed Executive Director of the Association of Canadian Publishers, serving the advocacy and professional development interests of 120 independent firms across the country, and participating in the development of national initiatives such as 49th Shelf, eBound Canada, and the National Reading Campaign. She has also worked as a consultant, mediator, and facility in various publishing and other organizations. Since retiring from the ACP in 2015, she has continued to advocate for independent publishers in Ontario and across Canada.

Past recipients of the award, which was established in 1997 to honour the late Janice Handford, former Executive Director of the Ontario Book Publishers Organization, include: Kirk Howard, Janet Hawkins, Jack David, Roy Macskimming, Angela Rebeiro, Judy Mappin, Simon Dardick, Tim Inkster, David Caron, Karl Siegler, Stan Bevington, and Jim Polk.


The Ontario Book Publishers Organization (OBPO) is a trade association of 41 Ontario-based, Canadian-owned book publishers. The OBPO represents the needs, interests, concerns and issues of Ontario book publishers.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad