Trillium Book Awards Author Reading 2015

2011 Short List Announced for the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards

Share |

The 2011 shortlist for the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards has just been announced! These awards, now in their 35th year, recognize artistic excellence in writing and illustration in English-language Canadian children’s literature. A $6,000 prize will be awarded in both the Children’s Picture Book category and the Young Adult/Middle Reader category.

The Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards are especially meaningful to writers and illustrators because the winners are chosen by young readers. This year’s jurors are students at Agnes Macphail Public School in Toronto. “I’m always impressed with how seriously our young jurors take their responsibility to choose a winner," says John Degen, Literature Officer at the Ontario Arts Council. "All kids’ book authors should have a chance to watch a group of young people discuss and critique their work the way these kids do. It’s inspiring.”

The shortlisted books are:

Children's Picture Book category

Young Adult/Middle Reader category

  • Grease Town (Tundra Books), by Ann Towell
  • Half Brother (Harper Collins Publishers Ltd.) by Kenneth Oppel
  • No Safe Place (Groundwood Books) by Deborah Ellis
  • I am Canada: Prisoner of Dieppe (Scholastic Canada Ltd), by Hugh Brewster
  • Think Again (Kids Can Press), written by JonArno Lawson and illustrated by Julie Morstad

Congratulations to all the shortlisted writers and illustrators! Winners will be announced at Toronto’s Agnes Macphail Public School, 112 Goldhawk Trail, at 10:30 a.m. on May 26, 2011.

For more information please visit the Ontario Arts Foundation's website.

Related item from our archives

JF Robitaille: Minor Dedications


Open Book App Ad